#10 A Conversation with Ken

I met Ken Hollings today. It was 30minutes of me, wide-eyed, listening while staring at him and shout in my mind, “Damn, He’s very true. OMG He’s so true……”

I told him a bit about my research and right after the first 5 or 10 minutes begin to realize that my theme is still too broad. This is my latest rough-mindmap:

New Doc 2017-05-15_1.jpg

It contains at least 2 (overly)broad subject and it feels like I just dump and dump everything there. No wonder if I’ve read tons and tons of paragraph but still have no idea about where to bring my research. Anyway, that’s a long process for me to realize it. I feel like… I repeat a mistake that I did in my last year of bachelor degree.

Then we start to talk about mass media which is obviously a big theme; children’s book, which is a big theme as well. We talk about the details of these two themes and agreed that there is an interesting relationship between these two; how oversimplification destroy the ‘essential’ message of a complex story. There is a ‘censorship’ in children’s book and there is ‘fourth estate’ in media. Then he asked me the very basic question, about the example of what I am researching. Oh. My mistake. I’m not looking for a specific example. and probably the most important thing to do before everything is to clarify the terms; which children’s book that I refer to? Which media that I focus on?

Then an interesting question emerged, “What is actually childhood? Who claimed that a child is pure? Who told us to treat them like an angel landed straight from the heaven?”. It actually relates to the censorship happens in children’s book literacy–whether it’s from political interest, religious sake, or norm–and oversimplification suffered by the media now.

Books, article, keywords suggestion from the conversation:

  • Disney: Good Pirates don’t steal
  • “Cognitive Dissonance” (when people persuade themselves to believe that everything goes on is fit in their belief/mind)
  • “Doubling Down” (to tell a bigger lie)
  • Social media with its pre-selecting feature (words limit, square photo, etc)
  • Book: Amusing Ourselves to Death by Neil Postman
  • Book: BAD, or the Dumbing of America by Paul Fussel
  • Film: Citizen Kane (1930s)
  • Young Adult Fiction: an interesting market field in literature world, targeted people who is ‘not yet’ fond of an adult things but too old for a child.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

